FK Fellow Blog – Tsitsi Mhlanga, Zimbabwe

I’m not sure what I was expecting, I just know I feel I’ve been here forever. The environment and people at IDASA made it relatively easy to settle in and I feel right at home.

We were also lucky enough to get here just before the staff day at the park and I think this helped me feel more comfortable around everyone after interacting with them over some wors and cricket. I still believe that our team, “TEAM NASHLEY” was the winning team.

I was initially worried about being treated like an intern with no experience and thus being relegated to doing menial tasks. That should have been the least of my troubles. I initially decided to take up this fellowship, because my mind was feeling like it was no longer being stretched and challenged. So far in this first month I have been feeling challenged. I’ve been involved in some interesting work and loving it.

So a month down the line, I’m not missing my work at home at all and am feeling very much like part of the IDASA family.

Leave a Reply

